Disclaimer - By publishing this information on this Web site, the Boston, Massachusetts law firm of Altman & Altman LLP is not claiming to represent any clients or cases mentioned here. The content provided is designed to inform readers and is not intended as legal advice.

OSHA Construction Safety Course Now Required in Seven States

Massachusetts is among the six states that currently require construction workers to complete OSHA’s 10-hour construction safety training course before they can work on certain construction projects. The other states includes Connecticut, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, New York, and Missouri. Nevada’s new OSHA training law will go into effect on January 1, 2010.

OSHA developed its 10-hour construction outreach training course as a voluntary safety course to teach workers about the hazards of construction work and the regulations that apply to their worksite. While several states have made the training mandatory in an attempt to reduce the number of construction accidents and injuries, some larger companies also have an authorized OSHA trainer on staff. OSHA has also authorized workers to take the required class online and receive the wallet card through the mail.

Several states only require the training for workers on publicly funded construction sites, but Nevada will require all construction workers to complete the training.

OSHA 10-Hour Construction Safety Course Now Mandatory in Seven States, Reuters, September 1, 2009
If you have been injured on a construction worksite, then contact our Massachusetts construction accident attorneys for a free initial consultation.

Contact Information